Potato salad with sardines and dill

Due to my current residency in landlocked Kansas, and my pathetic financial situation as a graduate student, I have been looking for a good method to cook and also stretch out one of the few sources of seafood I have been able to afford, which are sardines. As a Japanese person, I constantly crave briny flavors.

When I was visiting my folks who were temporarily residing in Uzbekistan, they took me to a Georgian restaurant. The height of the evening for me was the Georgian style chicken, which I was familiar with because a female protagonist in the Japanese novel Adventures of Everyday Life proclaimed it as the “best type of chicken in the world” while taking part in various forms of debauchery.
While I thoroughly enjoyed the chicken, I have no recollection of what it tasted like. What I do remember, though, is the very simple dish of potatoes and sardines that I reproduced many times after that night.

To this day, I have no idea of the name of this dish that I frequently make.
First, I boil 5 middle sized potatoes, peeled and diced, in salt water until soft.
Then I dump the water, and stir the potatoes while still having the heat on.
This takes the edges off the diced potatoes, creating a layer of mashed-ish
potatoes around the diced ones.
Then dump the potatoes in a bowl, add about 5 tablespoons of yogurt
(you can use mayo for this, but since the sardines are already pretty oily,
I find yogurt helps keep it relatively light.)
about 3-4 tablespoons of chopped fresh dill,
and 1 can of oil-packed sardines. Salt to taste, and eat.

Damn good by itself or between pieces of bread.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

