Spinach Sichuan noodles

 

 

 

Spinach sichzuan noodles

 

Amazing recipe from Serious Eat’s J. Kenji Lopez-Alt. Reading Fuchsia Dunlop’s books made me realize how versatile this sauce (that I originally associated only with dan dan mien) is, and I’ve been making it in large batches. I’m fantasizing with making these again, but using pepper leaves. I haven’t encountered pepper leaves until I came to Vancouver, but they are insanely versatile and has a light peppery aroma. I’ve been using them mostly in miso soups with tofu and stir-fries, but blanched and mixed in with noodles would be a great way to eat them too.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under faux chinese

Leave a Reply

